Home

Jenny Lou’s

Book Reviews

My escape from reality, reading books

Jenny’s currently-reading:

2022 Reading Challenge

2022 Reading Challenge
Jenny has read 13 books toward her goal of 100 books.
hide

Review: The Lighthouse – Fran Dorricott

Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com

New Releases: 2022 Week #4

Blog Tour Review: Cinema 7 – Michael J. Moore

Photo by Nitin Arya on Pexels.com

Debut Authors: 2022 Week #4

Free E-Books: 22.01.22

Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com

Weekly Catch Up: 23.01.22

Book Post & Other Book News: 21.01.22

Blog Tour Review: The Righteous Assassin – Kevin G. Chapman

Publishing Date: Her Perfect Twin – Sarah Bonner

Publishing Date: The Maid – Nita Prose

Photo by Antonio Janeski on Pexels.com

Book Blitz: Me & My Shadow – Deborah Stone

Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com

New Releases: 2022 Week #3

Photo by Antonio Janeski on Pexels.com

Cover Reveal: Stargazer – Laurie Petrou

Photo by Nitin Arya on Pexels.com

Debut Authors: 2022 Week #3

Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com

Weekly Catch Up: 16.01.22

Review: Ravine Lereux – E. Denise Billup

Free E-Books: 15.01.22

Blog Tour Review: Behind the Veil – E.J. Dawson

Book Post & Other Book News: 14.01.22

Publishing Date: The Alpha – E.J. Findorff

Review: The Maid – Nita Prose

Publishing Date: The Twyford Code – Janice Hallett

Photo by Nitin Arya on Pexels.com

Debut Authors: 2022 Week #2

Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com

New Releases: 2022 Week #2

Review: The Haunting of Bridge Manor: The Trilogy – Marc Layton

Review: Her Perfect Twin – Sarah Bonner

Photo by Magda Ehlers on Pexels.com

A to Z Challenge Catch Up: 10.01.22

Publishing Date: You Did This – Jamie Millen

Review: The Alpha – E.J. Findorff

Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com

Weekly Catch Up: 09.01.22

Book Post & Other Book News: 07.01.22

Free E-Books: 08.01.22

Publishing Date: The Unravelling – Polly Crosby

Publishing Date: Anything Could Happen – Lucy Diamond

Review: The Twyford Code- Janice Hallett

Review: The Perfect Escape – Leah Konen

Review: You Did This – Jamie Millen

Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com

New Releases 2022: Week #1

Free E-Books: 03.01.22

Photo by Nitin Arya on Pexels.com

Debut Authors 2022: Week #1

Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com

Yearly Wrap Up: 2021

Photo by Anni Roenkae on Pexels.com

TBR: January 2022

Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com

Monthly Wrap Up: December 2021

Free E-Books: 31.12.21

Photo by Karolina Grabowska on Pexels.com

Books of the Year: 2021 (Part 3)

Book Post & Other Book News: 30.12.21

Free E-Books: 27.12.21

Review: Anything Could Happen – Lucy Diamond

Review: Gold Valley Mysteries (Book 1 & 2): April Browne

Review: The Unravelling – Polly Crosby

Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com

Weekly Catch Up: 26.12.21

Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com

New Posts: 2022 (Part 3)

Free E-Books: 24.12.21

Photo by Karolina Grabowska on Pexels.com

Merry Christmas

Photo by Karolina Grabowska on Pexels.com

Books Of the Year: 2021 (Part 2)

Book Post & Other Book News: 23.12.21

Photo by Nitin Arya on Pexels.com

New Posts 2022: Debut Authors

Review: The Dream Catcher – Elizabeth Coffey

Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com

Weekly Catch Up: 19.12.21

Review: Playing Mum – Elizabeth Coffey

Book Post & Other Book News: 17.12.21

Free E-Books: 18.12.21

Photo by Karolina Grabowska on Pexels.com

Books of the Year: 2021 (Part 1)

Review: And the Little One Said – Elizabeth Coffey

Photo by Magda Ehlers on Pexels.com

New Posts 2022: My A to Z Challenge

Blog Tour Review: Silenced – Jennie Ensor

Free E-Books: 11.12.21

Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com

Weekly Catch Up: 12.12.21

Publishing Date: The Girl Upstairs – Georgina Lees

Book Post & Other Book News: 10.12.21

Publishing Date: Avon Books UK

Publishing Date Paperback: We are all Liars – Carys Jones

Publishing Date: Silenced – Jennie Ensor

Blog Tour Review: The Lost Girls – Heather Young

Review: Population Zero – Fran Lewis

Review: The Arctic Curry Club – Dani Redd

Free E-Books: 04.12.21

Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com

Weekly Catch Up: 05.12.21

Review: The Girl Upstairs – Georgina Lees

Book Post & Other Book News: 03.12.21

Photo by Anni Roenkae on Pexels.com

TBR: December 2021

Blog Tour Review: One Small Mistake – Dandy Smith

Spotlight Post: At the Fields of Fire and Blood – Crisyah

Publishing Date: One Small Mistake – Dandy Smith

Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com

Monthly Wrap Up: November 2021

Review: Hide – Nell Pattison

Review: Two Turtle Doves – Richard Wall

Publishing Date: The Life She Wants – Mel Sherratt

Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com

Weekly Catch Up: 28.11.21

NetGalley November Wrap Up: 29.11.21

Blog Tour Review: Imagine That – George Yuhasz

Free E-Books: 27.11.21

Spotlight Post: Your Career Your Business – Gina Cajucom

Blog Tour Review: Remember Me – Amanda Rigby

Publishing Date: The Lost Girls – Heather Young

Book Post & Other Book News: 26.11.21

Review: The Life She Wants – Mel Sherratt

Review: Running from the Shadows (Book 5) – Faith Blakely

NetGalley November Catch Up: 22.11.21

Publishing Date: Blood Notes – Lin Le Versha

Free E-Books: 20.11.21

Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com

Weekly Catch Up: 21.11.21

Book Post & Other Book News: 19.11.21

Blog Tour Review: The Warden – Jon Richter

Publishing Date: Remember Me – Amanda Rigby

Review: Running from the Shadows (Book 4) – Faith Blakely

Blog Tour Review: The Story of our Secrets – Shari Low

Review: Blood Notes – Lin Le Versha

NetGalley November Catch Up: 15.11.21

Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com

Cover Reveal: Imposter Syndrome – Kathy Wang

Blog Tour Review: The Numbers Game – Miles Watson

Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com

Weekly Catch Up: 14.11.21

Free E-Books: 13.11.21

Blog Tour Review: The Family Man – Anna Willett

Review: Running from the Shadows (Book 3) – Faith Blakely

Book Post & Other Book News: 12.11.21

Blog Tour Teaser: The Family Man – Anna Willett

Blog Tour Teaser: The Numbers Game – Miles Watson

Free E-Books (Part 2): 06.11.21 – Bookfunnel

NetGalley November Catch Up: 08.11.21

Blog Tour Review: Ronin Cleans His Room Like A Ninja – Chris Roy

Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com

Weekly Catch Up: 07.11.21

Review: The Shocking Truths – Chris Vecoh

Free E-Books: 06.11.21

Review: Contacts – Mark Watson

Book Post & Other Book News: 05.11.21

Cover Reveal & E-Book Publishing Date: The Lucky Diamond – Valinora Troy

Review: Running from the Shadows (Book 2) – Faith Blakely

Publishing Date: The Story of our Secrets – Shari Low

Photo by Anni Roenkae on Pexels.com

TBR: November 2021

Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com

Monthly Wrap Up: October 2021

Review: Dreams Lie Beneath – Rebecca Ross

Review: Target Deck – Cameron Curtis

NetGalley November

Free E-Books: 30.10.21

Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com

Weekly Catch Up: 31.10.21

Publication Date (E-Book): Ékleipsis: the Abyss – Tamel Wino

Book Post & Other Book News: 29.10.21

Review: Running From the Shadows – Faith Blakely

Blog Tour Review: The Perfect Daughter – Alex Stone

Review: Human Tenderloin – Craig Wallwork

Photo by Antonio Janeski on Pexels.com

Cover Reveal Tease: The Lucky Diamond – Valinora Troy

Review: The Summer the Air Changed – Padgett Gerler

Book Tag: Halloween Creatures Book Tag

Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com

Weekly Catch Up: 24.10.21

Review: Let Me Out I’ve Had Enough – Mark Matthews

Book Post & Other Book News: 22.10.21

Free E-Books: 23.10.21

Review: ékleipsis – the abyss – Tamel Wino

Publishing Date: No Child of Mine – Olga Gibbs

Publishing Date: The Perfect Daughter – Alex Stone

Photo by Antonio Janeski on Pexels.com

Cover Reveal Tease: The Lucky Diamond – Valinora Troy

Book Tour Spotlight: The Last Roman – B.K. Greenwood

Review: There is no death, There are no dead

Free E-Books: 16.10.21

Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com

Weekly Catch Up: 17.10.21

Book Post & Other Book News: 15.10.21

Blog Tour Review: The Genesis Inquiry – Olly Jarvis

Review: No Child of Mine – Olga Gibbs

Publishing Date: Petrichor – Melanie Rees

Publishing Date: The Genesis Inquiry – Olly Jarvis

Publishing Date: The Midnight Man – Caroline Mitchell

Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com

Weekly Catch Up: 10.10.21

Photo by Antonio Janeski on Pexels.com

Cover Reveal Tease: The Lucky Diamond – Valinora Troy

Book Post & Other Book News: 08.10.21

Free E-Books: 09.10.21

Photo by Antonio Janeski on Pexels.com

Cover Reveal: Meredith, Alone – Claire Alexander

Photo by Antonio Janeski on Pexels.com

Cover Reveal Tease: The Lucky Diamond – Valinora Troy

Review: The Midnight Man – Caroline Mitchell

Photo by Antonio Janeski on Pexels.com

Cover Reveal: The Lighthouse – Fran Dorricott

Photo by Anni Roenkae on Pexels.com

TBR: October 2021

Publishing Date: Last Girl Ghosted – Lisa Unger

Free E-Books: 02.10.21

Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com

Weekly Catch Up: 03.10.21

Publishing Date: We Are All Liars – Carys Jones

Publishing Date: We Watch You – N.S. Ford

Book Post & Other Book News: 29.09.21

Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com

Monthly Wrap Up: September 2021

Review: The Gouge – M.H. David

Review: Last Girl Ghosted – Lisa Unger

Free E-Books: 25.09.21

Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com

Weekly Catch Up: 26.09.21

Book Post & Other Book News: 24.09.21

Publishing Date: Anywhere Else – Kayla Hicks

Blog Tour: Death Perception – Lee Allen Howard – Blackthorn Book Tours

Review: We Watch You – N.S. Ford

Review: The Beresford – Will Carver

Release Date: The Liar’s Child – Sheryl Browne

Free E-Books: 18/09/21

Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com

Weekly Catch Up: 19/09/21

Release Blitz: Go For Broke – Daisy Knox

Book Post & Other Book News: 16/09/21

Review: Hungry Business – Maria DeBlassie

Review: Anywhere Else – Kayla Hicks

Review: Good Girl – Mel Sherratt

Review: The Liar’s Child – Sheryl Browne

Free E-Books: 11.09.21

Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com

Weekly Catch Up: 12.09.21

Review: Go For Broke – Daisy Knox

Book Post & Other Book News: 10.09.21

Release date: The New Home – Chris Merritt

Review: Lucinda Riley – Two standalone novels

Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com

Weekly Catch Up: 05.09.21

Review: Swindled – S.E. Shepherd

Teaser Blast: Go For Broke – Daisy Knox

Review: Nothing Important Happened Today – Will Carver

Review: Ralph’s Party -Lisa Jewell

Photo by Antonio Janeski on Pexels.com

Book Post and Other Book News 03.09.21

Photo by Anni Roenkae on Pexels.com

TBR: September 2021

Cover Reveal: Go For Broke – Daisy Knox

Review: The Appeal – Janice Hallett

Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com

Monthly Wrap Up: August 2021

Review: Hoglets’ Christmas Magic – Lynette Creswell

Review: Matilda Windsor is Coming Home – Anne Goodwin

Review: This Time Next Year – Sophie Cousens

Photo by Antonio Janeski on Pexels.com

Book Post and Other Book News 27.08.21

Cover reveal: The Midnight Man – Caroline Mitchell

Review: The Prank – L.V. Matthews

ARC Review: We Are All Liars – Carys Jones

Expected publishing date 30/09/2021

Review: After The Silence – Louise O’Neill

Photo by Antonio Janeski on Pexels.com

Book Post and Other Book News 20.08.21

Review: Little Secrets – Jennifer Hillier

Review: The Silent House – Nell Pattison

Review: My Lies, Your Lies – Susan Lewis

Review: Kolkata Noir – Tom Vater

Review: Seven Lies – Elizabeth Kay

Review: ARC The New Home – Chris Merritt

Publication date 07/09/21

Review: Before I met you – Lisa Jewell

Photo by Antonio Janeski on Pexels.com

Book Post and Other Book News 13.08.21

Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com

Mid Month Catch Up: August 2021

Review: Five Strangers – E.V Adamson

Review: Watching You – Lisa Jewell

Review: George the Orphan Crow and the Creatures of Blossom Valley – Helen Fox

Review: Final Cut – S J Watson

Review: Source – Rosemary Johnston

Review: DS Grace Allendale series books 1-3 by Mel Sherratt

Review: Invisible Girl – Lisa Jewell

Photo by Antonio Janeski on Pexels.com

Book Post & Other Book News 06.08.21

Publication date: The Crying House by B.R. Spangler – 03.08.21

Review: The Package – Sebastian Fitzek

Photo by Anni Roenkae on Pexels.com

TBR: Aug 2021

Review: The Truth Be Told – Kia Abdullah

Book Post & Other Book News 30.07.21

Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com

Monthly wrap up: July 2021

Review: The Phone Box at the Edge of the World – Laura Imai Messina

Review: Blacktop Wasteland – S.A. Cosby

ARC Review: The Crying House by B.R. Spangler – Release date 03/08/21

Review: We Begin at the End – Chris Whitaker

Book post 24.07.21

Review: Where We Belong – Anstey Harris

Review: Covert Identities – Amabel Daniels

Review: The Lies You Told – Harriet Tyce

Review: The Jigsaw Man – Nadine Matheson

Review: The Family Upstairs – Lisa Jewell

Book Post and Book news 17.07.21

Kickback

Review: DI Nick Dixon Series, Books 1-3 by Damien Boyd

Review: The Devil and the Dark Water – Stuart Turton

Review: Petrichor – Melanie Rees

Review: The Vanishing Half – Brit Bennett

Review: People of Abandoned Character – Clare Whitfield

Review: Launched into Eternity – TM Thorne

Review: The Rule – David Jackson

Book Post – Subscription 30th June 2021

Review: Weddings Coordinated – Lisa S Gayle

Review – The Shadow Sister – Lucinda Riley

TBR – July 2021

A little about me:

I am a 36 year old book lover who will give most genres of books a go, although my favourite is crime/thriller and romance.

I live in Essex and I am a mother to a beautiful 8 year old daughter and also work fulltime as a finance assistant for a number of schools, currently working from home.

Although I worked from home throughout lockdown as well as home schooling, I needed something to help my wellbeing during the uncertain times that we were going through. I turned back to my love of books and since then haven’t turned back, remembering how good it felt to escape reality by reading other peoples stories.

I set myself a challenge of 50 books to read this year on Goodreads and so far I am ahead of schedule.

Hope you enjoy my blog and my reviews and it helps suggest books that you yourself could read.

Disclosure Statement

This policy is valid from 4th July 2021.

Jenny Lou’s Book Reviews is my own personal blog and is created and edited by me.

I do receive some books/E-books free in exchange for my personal review, but I am not financially rewarded for these reviews and will always provide an honest review. I will always mark on my posts when I have received a book free of charge.

I do not receive any other advertising or sponsorship where I would gain financially.

All content on this blog is of my own words and is my own opinion.

Any pictures used will be ones I take myself, from Google images and Goodreads.

Get new content delivered directly to your inbox.

Professional Reader Featured Book Reviewer
Create your website with WordPress.com
Get started