DS Grace Allendale – Books 1-3 by Mel Sherratt

I first heard of Mel Sherratt when I saw the book ‘Good Girl’, whilst scrolling through twitter. It looked like a book I would really enjoy, so I decided to start at the beginning of the series. I’m so glad I did, and I’m pleased that I already have book 4 in the DS Grace Allendale series, ‘Good Girl’ waiting for me to read.

This series follows Grace as she moves back to her childhood city Stoke. She wants to make a fresh start as a DS in a new area, although she realises this might be difficult when her estranged family the Steeles live there too.

All the books have so much tension and keep you wanting to read and read, and then when you reach the end you don’t want the story to end.

Here is a short review for each of the books 1-3 of the series:

Hush Hush – Book 1

Grace starts her new job as a DS in her childhood city of Stoke. Her first case doesn’t make her life easy as murders start to happen over the town, meaning Grace must be quick to work out who the killer is, whilst earning her new team’s trust.

Soon the main suspects turn out to be her estranged family the Steeles, she must show her team where her loyalties lie and not get mixed up in the notorious family.

I loved this book and as soon as I had read, I couldn’t wait to read the next in the series. It keeps you enthralled throughout, and it was great to be introduced to DS Grace Allendale.


💜💜💜💜.5 /5

Tick Tock – Book 2

A local teenager is found dead near her school and then soon after another woman is found strangled. Grace must with her team race against time to find the killer before they strike again.

Grace’s character shows through more as she is more relaxed with her team now, so you get to see more of Grace’s character.

Another tense and brilliant book, it had me guessing to the end. A must-read series for crime/thriller fans.



Liar Liar – Book 3

DS Grace Allendale’s next case starts when she hears a women’s scream, she follows the screams and finds a toddler had fallen from the balcony.

It is a shocking event and Grace needs to get to the bottom of whether this was an accident or something more sinister.

You get to see from different points of view as you go through the book, including going back to Ruby’s (the toddler’s mother) teenage years. Each point of view slowly gets you to the truth, although there is nothing slow paced about this book, it is a rollercoaster ride of tension and has some terrifyingly dark characters.

I was gripped from the first few pages, and I couldn’t stop reading. I don’t know how Mel does it but the way she writes this series, each chapter brings you more shocks, thrills & secrets unveiled.


💜💜💜💜.5 /5

Overall, an excellent, gripping tense crime thriller series. I already have ‘Good Girl’ on my shelf waiting for me to read, and I can’t wait.

11 thoughts on “DS Grace Allendale – Books 1-3 by Mel Sherratt

  1. I love that you reviewed all 3 books in the series in one post! It makes it easier for someone, like me, who hasn’t read them to get a good feel for what to expect. Wonderful reviews!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think it’s so good that you saw a book that you were interested in, and then found the earlier books in the series and read them all, and then posted a review on all three books at once.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I do enjoy Mel Sherratt’s writing. I have read other books by her and really enjoyed them. Thanks for the reminder about the series as I do want to read it. Great reviews Jenny.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create your website with WordPress.com
Get started
%d bloggers like this: