Blog Tour Review: The Perfect Daughter – Alex Stone

About the Author:

Author Bio –

Alex Stone, originally an accountant from the West Midlands, is now a psychological suspense writer based in Dorset. This beautiful and dramatic coastline is the inspiration and setting for her novels. She was awarded the Katie Fforde Bursary in 2019 and her debut thriller The Perfect Daughter will be published by  Boldwood in October 2021.

Social Media Links – .

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/AlexStoneWriter

Twitter  https://twitter.com/AlexStoneAuthor

Instagram https://www.instagram.com/AlexStoneAuthor/

The perfect daughter…

Jess Harper has spent her whole life trying to make her mum, Abigail happy and proud. And everything Jess does, from the clothes she wears, the job she has, the men she dates, are all approved by Abigail first.

The perfect boyfriend…

So when Jess announces that she has a new man in her life – plumber Adam – Abigail is less than impressed. ‘A plumber? Really, Jessica….’ Adam encourages Jess to break free from her mum’s manipulation, can’t she see what’s happening?

The perfect mother….

But Abigail is only doing these things to keep Jess safe, to protect her from getting hurt again…isn’t she?

Or the perfect liar?

Jess, caught in the middle, doesn’t know who to believe or trust. And then Adam vanishes without trace.

Now Jess is the police’s prime suspect and they want to know if Jess really is as perfect as she seems….

A gripping new psychological thriller for fans of Sue Watson, Shalini Boland and S.E.Lynes

Purchase Link – https://amzn.to/2WhQ8bE

My Review:

I received a copy of ‘The Perfect Daughter’ by Alex Stone through NetGalley from the publisher Boldwood Books. This review is being posted as part of the blog tour run by Rachel’s Random Resources. Thank you to you all for the copy and my place on the blog tour.

This book is set in Bournemouth and follows Jessica Harper, a Contracts Assistant.

Jessica is very close to her Mum and her life currently revolves around her and her alone. Although she feels alone, Jessica doesn’t like to take risks, in case she gets hurt or it causes people to leave.  All she wants to be is the perfect daughter. When asked out on a date by Adam, she takes the chance and goes on the date.

Soon they are in a relationship, much to her mother’s disgust. What is wrong with being happy?

A devastating accident causes Jessica to delve into her own mind and work out what could have happened. Was it her fault? Is there a side of her that stays hidden?

She must work through her anxieties and doubts, that have been confirmed by her Mum and work out the truth. Is her Mum just protecting her? Or are there darker secrets to unravel?

I found this book really hit me hard, I’m not sure if it is just my state of mind at the moment but Jessica’s character really spoke to me. I related to her feelings of insecurity and never feeling good enough, always feeling like you never fit in. I found it difficult reading her mother talk to her the way she does, no one should ever be made to feel like that. This just shows how well written this book is, that some characters can be relatable, and others get under your skin.

Following Jessica’s journey was really intense, as she starts to doubt her own mind, but also work out how strong she is too.

I loved the brief friendship between Jessica and Karen too, I would have loved to see more of this, everyone needs a friend like Karen.

As I said before Jessica’s Mum really got under my skin, I just wanted to scream at her to stop talking to her daughter like that and let her live her life.

Overall, an intense, and for me emotional psychological thriller, which leaves you with the thought how hard is it to be The Perfect Daughter.

My Rating:

💜💜💜💜 /5

Take a look at the rest of the posts on the blog tour:

8 thoughts on “Blog Tour Review: The Perfect Daughter – Alex Stone

  1. This cover still draws me in, and the story does sound like it hits that part of us all that knows we were not and/or are not the perfect child we think our parents expected us to be. Sounds like a very compelling read. Wonderful review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create your website with WordPress.com
Get started
%d bloggers like this: