Debut Authors: 2022 Week #4

Photo by Nitin Arya on Pexels.com

This is a new weekly post which will show some of the debut authors releases in the UK each week.

Some of the books will come from a spreadsheet I received from 2022 Debut Stars on twitter.

Others will be ones I have come across whilst browsing various sources.

Debut Author Releases from 2022 Debut Stars:

💜 All the White Spaces – Ally Wilkes

Genre: Horror/Historical Fiction

Publisher: Titan Books

Publishing Date: 25.01.22

Synopsis from Goodreads:

A vivid ghost story exploring identity, gender and selfhood, set against the backdrop of the golden age of polar exploration. Perfect for fans of Philip Pullman’s Northern Lights and Michelle Paver’s Thin Air.

In the wake of the First World War, Jonathan Morgan stows away on an Antarctic expedition, determined to find his rightful place in the world of men. Aboard the expeditionary ship of his hero, the world-famous explorer James “Australis” Randall, Jonathan may live as his true self—and true gender—and have the adventures he has always been denied. But not all is smooth sailing: the war casts its long shadow over them all, and grief, guilt, and mistrust skulk among the explorers.

When disaster strikes in Antarctica’s frozen Weddell Sea, the men must take to the land and overwinter somewhere which immediately seems both eerie and wrong; a place not marked on any of their part-drawn maps of the vast white continent. Now completely isolated, Randall’s expedition has no ability to contact the outside world. And no one is coming to rescue them.

In the freezing darkness of the Polar night, where the aurora creeps across the sky, something terrible has been waiting to lure them out into its deadly landscape…

As the harsh Antarctic winter descends, this supernatural force will prey on their deepest desires and deepest fears to pick them off one by one. It is up to Jonathan to overcome his own ghosts before he and the expedition are utterly destroyed.

Goodreads rating: 4.16

💜 Hide – April Doyle

Genre: Dystopia/Sci-Fi

Publisher: The Book Guild Ltd

Publishing Date: 28.01.22

Synopsis from Amazon:

Near-future Britain. 
Climate change has led to food shortages and civil unrest. 
Pollinating insects are in steep decline.
 
Commercial bee farmer Victor Martin travels around the farms of Kent with his hives to pollinate fruit trees and crops.

Local research entomologist Dr Annie Abrams is devastated when she’s ordered to give up her captive bee colonies – her life’s work – to join forces with Victor and ensure a harvest. 
 
But the bees are dying. 
 
Their only hope seems to be an experimental alternative to insect pollination: robot pollinators called nanodrones. But why does the drone designer seem so familiar? And who is behind the shadowy organisation intent on sabotaging their vital work?
 
Can Annie and Victor win their battle to save the bees… or is it too late?

Goodreads Rating: N/A

Other Debut Authors Releases (Some released last week):

💜 Getting His Game Back – Gia De Cadenet

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Publisher: Dell

Publishing Date: 25.01.22

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Khalil Sarda went through a rough patch last year, but now he’s nearly back to his old self. All he has to do is keep his “stuff” in the past. Real men don’t have depression and go to therapy–or, at least they don’t admit it. He’s ready to focus on his growing chain of barbershops, take care of his beloved Detroit community, and get back to being the ladies’ man his family and friends tease him for being. It’ll be easy . . . until Vanessa throws him completely off his game.

Vanessa Noble is too busy building a multimillion-dollar tech career as a Black woman before age thirty to be distracted by a relationship. Not to mention, she’s been burned before, still dealing with the lingering hurt of a past breakup. Besides, as her friends often remind her, she’ll never find a man who checks all the boxes on her famous List. Yet when she desperately needs a shape-up and happens upon one of Khalil’s barbershops, the Fade, he makes her reconsider everything. Khalil is charming, intelligent, sexy, and definitely seems like he’d treat a woman right . . . but he’s not Black.

Vanessa may be willing to take a chance on Khalil, but a part of him is frustratingly closed off, just out of her reach. Will old patterns emerge to keep them apart? Or have they both finally found a connection worth throwing away the playbook for?

Goodreads Rating: 3.79

💜 A Fatal Crossing – Tom Hindle

Genre: Historical Fiction

Publisher: Penguin

Publishing Date: 20.01.22

Synopsis from Goodreads:

November 1924. The Endeavour sets sail from Southampton carrying 2,000 passengers and crew on a week-long voyage to New York.

When an elderly gentleman is found dead at the foot of a staircase, ship’s officer Timothy Birch is ready to declare it a tragic accident. But James Temple, a strong-minded Scotland Yard inspector, is certain there is more to this misfortune than meets the eye.

Birch agrees to investigate, and the trail quickly leads to the theft of a priceless painting. Its very existence is known only to its owner . . . and the dead man.

With just days remaining until they reach New York, and even Temple’s purpose on board the Endeavour proving increasingly suspicious, Birch’s search for the culprit is fraught with danger.

And all the while, the passengers continue to roam the ship with a killer in their midst . . .

Goodreads Rating: 3.91

💜 She And I – Hannah King

Genre: Mystery/Thriller

Publisher: Raven Books

Publishing Date: 20.01.22

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Best friends share everything. But murder is different. Isn’t it?

Keeley and Jude are closer than blood. Inseparable since childhood, they share everything: clothes, secrets, booze – and blame. So when they wake up after a new year’s party to find Keeley’s boyfriend stabbed to death beside them, they agree to share something else: the story they’ll tell the police. But who is that story really meant to protect? Is Jude risking her bright future to protect her friend? Is there more to sharp-eyed Keeley than she lets on? Or are they conspiring to let Keeley’s brother get away with the drugs he’s been selling in their small town? As the murder investigation sends ripples through their community, the history of the girls’ claustrophobic relationship comes under scrutiny – and they start to realise they might not, always, have shared as much as they thought. Can their friendship survive sharing everything?

Goodreads Rating: 3.78

Congratulations to all the authors and publishers with releases this week.

Hope you find something you like on the post?

5 thoughts on “Debut Authors: 2022 Week #4

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create your website with WordPress.com
Get started
%d bloggers like this: