Debut Authors: 2022 Week #11

Photo by Nitin Arya on Pexels.com

This is a new weekly post which will show some of the debut authors UK releases each week.

Some of the books will come from a spreadsheet I received from 2022 Debut Stars on twitter.

Others will be ones I have come across whilst browsing various sources.

Debut Author Releases from 2022 Debut Stars:

💜 The Flames – Sophie Haydock

Genre: Historical Fiction

Publisher: Transworld Digital/Doubleday

Publishing Date: 17.03.22

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Every painting tells a story, but what if the women on the canvas could talk…

Vienna, at the beginning of the 20th century, is an exhilarating social whirl, a city of ideas, of music, of groundbreaking art, lead by Gustav Klimt until the arrival of his scandalous protegee, Egon Schiele. Into this world come four women, each with their own story to tell:

ADELE: passionate, fierce, obstinate. The daughter of a bourgeois family, she rails against the strictures of her class and harbours her own wild fantasies.

GERTRUDE: spirited, single-minded, possessive. The sister to budding artist Egon Schiele, she longs for an exciting life away from their tempestuous family home.

VALLY: determined, independent, proud. A model for celebrated artist Gustav Klimt, she has carved her way out of poverty and is now forging a brave new path for herself.

EDITH: quiet, conventional, loyal. Or is she? Younger sister to Adele, Edith is overlooked and wonders if there is another version of the woman she might become.

Four flames, four wild, blazing hearts, longing to be known. In an elegant bohemian city like Vienna, everything seems possible – until an act of betrayal changes everything. For just as a flame has the power to mesmerize, it can also destroy everything in its path . . .

Goodreads rating: 4.26

💜 A Spoonful of Murder – J.M. Hall

Genre: Cozy Mystery

Publisher: Avon Books UK

Publishing Date: 17.03.22

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Retirement can be murder…

Every Thursday, three retired school teachers have their ‘coffee o’clock’ sessions at the Thirsk Garden Centre café.

But one fateful week, as they are catching up with a slice of cake, they bump into their ex-colleague, Topsy.

By the next Thursday, Topsy’s dead.

The last thing Liz, Thelma and Pat imagined was that they would become involved in a murder.

But they know there’s more to Topsy’s death than meets the eye – and it’s down to them to prove it…

Sit down with a cup of tea, a slice of cake and this perfectly witty, page-turning cosy crime novel. Fans of The Thursday Murder Club, Death in Paradise and Midsomer Murders will be hooked from the very first page.

Goodreads Rating: 3.54

💜 The Truth Will Out – Rosemary Hennigan

Genre: Thriller

Publisher: Orion

Publishing Date: 17.03.22

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Dara Gaffney is fresh out of drama school when she lands the leading role in the revival of Eabha de Lacey’s hugely successful yet controversial play.

Based on the true story of the death of Cillian Butler, many claim that Eabha had an ulterior motive when she penned it. Cillian’s death remains a mystery to this day, and Eabha and her brother, Austin, the only witnesses.

As the media storm builds and the opening night draws closer, the cast find it harder and harder to separate themselves from the characters.

As the truth of Cillian’s fate becomes clear, Dara’s loyalty to her role will be irrevocably questioned as the terrible history starts to repeat itself..

Goodreads Rating: 3.80

Other Debut Authors Releases:

💜 Little Boxes – Cecilia Knapp

Genre: YA

Publisher: The Borough Press

Publishing Date: 17.03.22

Synopsis from Goodreads:

A story of sacrifice, violence and growing up different – told against the heat and claustrophobia of a seaside city in summer.

After Matthew’s grandfather dies suddenly, four friends struggle to face the trauma of their pasts in the wake of this fresh tragedy. Leah and Jay, a couple since their school days, find their relationship tested, while Nathan deals with a vast and unrequited love, and Matthew grapples with his sexuality. In the days that follow, Matthew begins to unearth his grandfather’s past. He finds a different life, full of secrets, and discovers that he and his grandfather may have had more in common than he once thought.

Goodreads Rating: 4.36

💜 Mother Mother – Annie Macmanus

Genre: Contemporary Fiction

Publisher:

Publishing Date: 17.03.22 (Paperback)

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Mother Mother is a powerful coming-of-age novel and an intimate family study. It’s about finding light in dark places, and it examines the cost of unconditional love.

Mary McConnell grew up longing for information about the mother she never knew, who died suddenly when Mary was only a baby. Her brother Sean was barely old enough to remember, and their father numbed his pain with drink.

Now aged thirty-five, Mary has lived in the same house her whole life. She’s never left Belfast. She has a son, TJ, who’s about to turn eighteen, and is itching to see more of the world.

One Saturday morning, TJ wakes up to find his mother gone. He doesn’t know where – or why – but he’s the only one who can help find her.

Mother Mother takes us down the challenging road of Mary’s life, while following TJ’s increasingly desperate search for his mother, as he begins to understand what has led her to this point.

This is a gritty, affecting novel about family, grief, addiction, and motherhood. And it asks the question – if you spend your life giving everything to the ones you love; do you risk losing yourself along the way?

Goodreads Rating: 4.09

💜 The Day I Fell Off My Island – Yvonne Bailey-Smith

Genre: YA

Publisher: Myraid Editions

Publishing Date: 17.03.22 (Paperback)

Synopsis from Goodreads:

The Day I Fell Off My Island tells the story of Erna Mullings, a teenage Jamaican girl uprooted from her island following the sudden death of her beloved grandmother.

When Erna is sent to England to be reunited with her siblings, she dreads leaving behind her elderly grandfather, and the only life she has ever known. A new future unfolds, in a strange country and with a mother she barely knows. The next decade will be a complex journey of estrangement and arrival, new beginnings, and the uncovering of long-buried secrets.

Goodreads Rating: 4.11

Congratulations to all the authors and publishers with releases this week.

Hope you find something you like on the post?

3 thoughts on “Debut Authors: 2022 Week #11

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create your website with WordPress.com
Get started
%d bloggers like this: