Debut Authors: 2022 Week #12

Photo by Nitin Arya on Pexels.com

This is a new weekly post which will show some of the debut authors UK releases each week.

Some of the books will come from a spreadsheet I received from 2022 Debut Stars on twitter.

Others will be ones I have come across whilst browsing various sources.

Debut Author Releases from 2022 Debut Stars:

💜 Are You Okay, Elliot Hart? – Kate S. Martin

Genre: Contemporary Fiction

Publisher: Creative James Media

Publishing Date: 22.03.22

Synopsis from Goodreads:

You keep it on the inside because it’s the safest place to hide.

Fifteen-year-old Elliot ‘Matchstick’ Hart spends his days caring for his mum and hiding from the school bully.
Fifteen-year-old Josh McBride spends his days tormenting Elliot and avoiding his abusive stepfather.
Inspired by a picture in an old newspaper, Elliot embarks on an adventure to the city. Little does he know that Josh has decided to join him. On their journey, strangers and surprises force them to look at each other in a different light. As secrets are uncovered, can the boys bury their differences or will it tear them further apart?

Goodreads rating: 4.80

💜 The Shadow Glass – Josh Winning

Genre: Fantasy/Horror

Publisher: Titan Books

Publishing Date: 22.03.22

Synopsis from Goodreads:

A thrilling race against the clock to save the world from fantasy creatures from a cult 80s film – perfect for fans of Henson Company puppet classics like Labyrinth and The Dark Crystal, and The NeverEnding Story.

Jack Corman is failing at life. Jobless, jaded and facing the threat of eviction, he’s also reeling from the death of his father, one-time film director Bob Corman. Back in the eighties, Bob poured his heart and soul into the creation of his 1986 puppet fantasy The Shadow Glass, but the film flopped on release and Bob was never the same again.

In the wake of Bob’s death, Jack returns to his decaying childhood home, where he is confronted with the impossible — the puppet heroes from The Shadow Glass are alive, and they need his help. Tipped into a desperate quest to save the world from the more nefarious of his father’s creations, Jack teams up with an excitable fanboy and a spiky studio exec to navigate the labyrinth of his father’s legacy and ignite a Shadow Glass resurgence that could, finally, do Bob proud.

Goodreads Rating: 4.41

💜 The Girl Beyond the Gate – Becca Day

Genre: Thriller

Publisher: Embla Books

Publishing Date: 22.03.22

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Welcome to Kensington Grove, the safest place to call home….

Jodie Madison can’t think of a better place for a fresh start than the exclusive, gated community of The Grove. But from the moment she passes through the wrought iron gates, she starts to suspect she’s made a mistake.

Despite her vow to keep apart from the other residents, Jodie can’t help but feel drawn to her unnerving neighbour Norah Williams and terminally ill daughter, Lacey. Jodie knows she should stay away, but something draws her in.

When a murder shocks The Grove, Jodie vows to do everything in her power to save Lacey from her mother. But as more secrets emerge from Norah’s shadowy past, Jodie is faced with the unthinkable – Norah’s not so different to herself, and neither woman is innocent.

The past won’t stay hidden forever. And The Grove will be an unforgiving witness.

Goodreads Rating: 4.11

Other Debut Authors Releases (One from a few weeks ago):

💜 Woman, Eating – Claire Kohda

Genre: Horror/Fantasy

Publisher: Virago

Publishing Date: 24.03.22

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Lydia is hungry. She’s always wanted to try sashimi, ramen, onigiri with sour plum stuffed inside – the food her Japanese father liked to eat. And then there is bubble tea and the vegetables grown by the other young artists at the London studio space she is secretly squatting in. But Lydia can’t eat any of this. The only thing she can digest is blood, and it turns out that sourcing fresh pigs’ blood in London – where she is living away from her vampire mother for the first time – is much more difficult than she’d anticipated.

Then there are the humans: the people at the gallery she interns at, the strange men who follow her after dark, and Ben, a goofy-grinned artist she is developing feelings for. Lydia knows that they are her natural prey, but she can’t bring herself to feed on them.

If Lydia is to find a way to exist in the world, she must reconcile the conflicts within her – between her demon and human sides, her mixed ethnic heritage, and her relationship with food, and, in turn, humans. Before any of this, however, she must eat.

Goodreads Rating: 3.67

💜 Reptile Memoirs – Silje Ulstein

Genre: Mystery/Thriller

Publisher: Grove Press UK/Atlantic Books

Publishing Date: 17.03.22

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Liv has a lot of secrets. Late one night, in the aftermath of a party in the apartment she shares with two friends in Ålesund, she sees a python on a TV nature show and becomes obsessed with the idea of buying a snake as a pet. Soon Nero, a baby Burmese python, becomes the apartment’s fourth roommate. As Liv bonds with Nero, she is struck by a desire that surprises her with its intensity. Finally she is safe.

Thirteen years later, in the nearby town of Kristiansund, Mariam Lind goes on a shopping trip with her eleven-year-old daughter, Iben. Following an argument Mariam storms off, expecting her young daughter to make her own way home . . . but she never does. Detective Roe Olsvik, new to the Kristiansund police department, is assigned to the case of Iben’s disappearance. As he interrogates Mariam, he instantly suspects her – but there is much more to this case and these characters than their outer appearances would suggest.

A biting and constantly shifting tale of family secrets, rebirth and the legacy of trauma, Reptile Memoirs is a brilliant exploration of the cold-bloodedness of humanity.

Goodreads Rating: 3.57

💜 The Wrong Briefcase – Ian Cummins

Genre: Thriller

Publisher: Independently Published

Publishing Date: Was published on E-Book: 03.03.22 & Paperback: 07.03.22

Synopsis from Goodreads:

What would you do if you suddenly found a large amount of money?

Mark Reynolds is facing the uncomfortable changes of middle-age when he mistakenly picks up a briefcase containing a very large amount of cash. Unable to trace its owner, and having received no contact, he decides to keep the vast sum, and discretely invest it – a decision which leads him into an unfamiliar world populated by interesting people.

A world that is more familiar to Harry Lavinsky, the owner of the briefcase and its contents. He and his son, James, start the search – and it becomes clear why he was carrying so much money and what its loss will mean for his family.

As the chaos unfolds, both loser and finder are faced with difficult decisions and need to use their wits to overcome unforeseen events.

You’ll have to decide if you would make the same choices.

Goodreads Rating: 4.00

Congratulations to all the authors and publishers with releases this week.

Hope you find something you like on the post?

5 thoughts on “Debut Authors: 2022 Week #12

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create your website with WordPress.com
Get started
%d bloggers like this: