Debut Authors: 2022 Week #15

Photo by Nitin Arya on Pexels.com

This is a new weekly post which will show some of the debut authors UK releases each week.

Some of the books will come from a spreadsheet I received from 2022 Debut Stars on twitter.

Others will be ones I have come across whilst browsing various sources.

Debut Author Releases from 2022 Debut Stars:

💜 Single Bald Female – Laura Price

Genre: Fiction

Publisher: Macmillan

Publishing Date: 14.04.22

Synopsis from Goodreads:

At thirty-one, Jessica Jackson has it all – the career she’s worked so hard for, the loving boyfriend and a cosy London flat they share with their cat. But a shock diagnosis turns Jess’s world upside down, and her contented life implodes with it.

As Jess juggles her career with chemo, and learns that her perfect boyfriend isn’t quite so perfect after all, her friends’ lives continue to follow the script – the ‘I said yes’ Facebook announcements, the big white weddings and the baby scans. Worrying that she’ll be left behind, she turns to online dating as she figures out what the future holds.

In the midst of it all, she meets Annabel, an enigmatic, enchanting twenty-seven-year-old, with incurable cancer. But while Annabel may be nearing the end of her life, she understands much more about living than anyone Jess has ever met. And Annabel is determined to show Jess how to make every day count . . .

Frank, funny and poignant, Single Bald Female is a completely unforgettable story of love and friendship.

Goodreads rating: 4.44

💜 The Quiet Whispers Never Stop – Olivia Fitzsimmons

Genre: Fiction

Publisher: JM Originals

Publishing Date: 14.04.22

Synopsis from Goodreads:

In 1982, Nuala Malin struggles to stay connected, to her husband, to motherhood, to the smallness of her life in the belly of a place that is built on hate and stagnation.

Her daughter Sam and baby son PJ keep her tethered to this life she doesn’t want. She finds unexpected refuge with a seventeen-year-old boy, but this relationship is only temporary, a sticking plaster on a festering wound. It cannot last and when her chance to leave Northern Ireland comes, Nuala takes it.

In 1994, Sam Malin plans escape. She longs for a life outside her dysfunctional family, far away from the North and all its troubles, free from her quiet brooding father Patsy, who never talks about her mother, Nuala; a woman Sam barely knew, who abandoned them twelve years ago. She finds solace in music, drugs and her best friend Becca, but most of all in an illicit relationship with a jagged, magnetic older man.

She is drawn to him, and he to her, in a way she can’t yet comprehend.

Sam is more like her mother than she knows.

Goodreads Rating: 4.38

💜 Wet Paint – Chloë Ashby

Genre: Fiction

Publisher: Trapeze

Publishing Date: 14.04.22

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Since the death of her best friend Grace, twenty-six-year-old Eve has learned to keep everything and everyone at arm’s length. Safe in her detachment, she scrapes along waiting tables and cleaning her shared flat in exchange for cheap rent, finding solace in her small routines.

But when a chance encounter at work brings her past thundering into her present, Eve becomes consumed by painful memories of Grace. And soon her precariously maintained life begins to unravel: she loses her job, gets thrown out of her flat, and risks pushing away the one decent man who cares about her.

Taking up life-modelling to pay the bills, Eve lays bare her body but keeps hidden the mounting chaos inside her head. When her self-destructive urges spiral out of control, she’s forced to confront the traumatic event that changed the course of her life, and to finally face her grief and guilt.

Goodreads Rating: 3.69

Other Debut Authors Releases:

💜 Counting to Bananas – Carrie Tillotson

Genre: Children’s Picture Book (Ages 4-8)

Publisher: Flamingo Books

Publishing Date: 12.04.22

Synopsis from Goodreads:

A hilarious, mostly-rhyming picture book about a banana and narrator who can’t quite agree on what their book is about. Perfect for fans of Mo Willems’ We Are in a Book and Adam Rex’s Nothing Rhymes With Orange!

When a narrator starts filling this story with fruit, Banana can’t wait to step into the spotlight. The book is called Counting to Bananas, after all. But as more and more fruits (and non-fruits) are added to the story, Banana objects. When will it be time for bananas?!

With laugh-out-loud text from debut author Carrie Tillotson and brought to life by illustrator Estrela Lourenço this is the story of a banana and narrator who have very strong opinions about what should (and should not!) be in this book.

Goodreads Rating: 4.78

💜 Take My Hand – Dolen Perkins-Valdez

Genre: Historical Fiction

Publisher: Phoenix

Publishing Date: 12.04.22

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Montgomery, Alabama 1973. Fresh out of nursing school, Civil Townsend has big plans to make a difference, especially in her African American community. At the Montgomery Family Planning Clinic, she intends to help women make their own choices for their lives and bodies.

But when her first week on the job takes her down a dusty country road to a worn down one-room cabin, she’s shocked to learn that her new patients are children—just 11 and 13 years old. Neither of the Williams sisters has even kissed a boy, but they are poor and Black and for those handling the family’s welfare benefits that’s reason enough to have the girls on birth control. As Civil grapples with her role, she takes India, Erica and their family into her heart. Until one day, she arrives at the door to learn the unthinkable has happened and nothing will ever be the same for any of them.

Decades later, with her daughter grown and a long career in her wake, Dr. Civil Townsend is ready to retire, to find her peace and to leave the past behind. But there are people and stories that refuse to be forgotten. That must not be forgotten.

Because history repeats what we don’t remember.

Goodreads Rating: 4.45

💜 Trespasses – Louise Kennedy

Genre: Fiction

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

Publishing Date: 14.04.22

Synopsis from Goodreads:

There is nothing special about the day Cushla meets Michael, a married man from Belfast, in the pub owned by her family. But here, love is never far from violence, and this encounter will change both of their lives forever.

As people get up each morning and go to work, school, church or the pub, the daily news rolls in of another car bomb exploded, another man beaten, killed or left for dead. In the class Cushla teaches, the vocabulary of seven-year-old children now includes phrases like ‘petrol bomb’ and ‘rubber bullets’. And as she is forced to tread lines she never thought she would cross, tensions in the town are escalating, threatening to destroy all she is working to hold together.

Goodreads Rating: 4.33

Congratulations to all the authors and publishers with releases this week.

Hope you find something you like on the post?

5 thoughts on “Debut Authors: 2022 Week #15

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create your website with WordPress.com
Get started
%d bloggers like this: