Debut Authors: 2022 Week #16

Photo by Nitin Arya on Pexels.com

This is a new weekly post which will show some of the debut authors UK releases each week.

Some of the books will come from a spreadsheet I received from 2022 Debut Stars on twitter.

Others will be ones I have come across whilst browsing various sources.

Debut Author Releases from 2022 Debut Stars:

💜 Breakneck Point – T. Orr Munro

Genre: Crime/Thriller

Publisher: HQ Stories

Publishing Date: 14.04.22

Synopsis from Goodreads:

She’s hunting a killer.
He’s watching her every move.

A brand new crime series for fans of Val McDermid, Jane Casey, Cara Hunter and Mare of Easttown

CSI Ally Dymond follows the evidence – wherever it leads.

Her commitment to justice has cost Ally her place on the major investigations team. After exposing corruption in the ranks, she’s stuck working petty crimes on the sleepy North Devon coast.

Only when the body of nineteen-year-old Janie Warren turns up in the seaside town of Bidecombe can Ally put her skills to good use. Yet the evidence she discovers contradicts the lead detective’s theory. And no one wants to listen to the CSI who landed their colleagues in prison.

Time is running out to catch a serial killer no one is looking for – no one except Ally. What she doesn’t know is that he’s watching, from her side of the crime scene tape, waiting for the moment to strike. When he does, Ally will be forced to question the true nature of justice like never before.

Goodreads rating: 4.29

💜 Regrets of the Dying – Georgina Scull

Genre: Non-Fiction

Publisher: Welbeck Publishing Group

Publishing Date: 14.04.22

Synopsis from Goodreads:

A powerful, moving and hopeful book exploring what people regret most when they are dying and how this can help us lead a better life.

If you were told you were going to die tomorrow, what would you regret?

Ten years ago, without time to think or prepare, Georgina Scull ruptured internally. The doctors told her she could have died and, as Georgina recovered, she began to consider the life she had led and what she would have left behind.

Paralysed by a fear of wasting what seemed like precious time but also fully ready to learn how to spend her second chance, Georgina set out to meet others who had faced their own mortality or had the end in sight.

The people she met taught her what it feels like to know you’re running out of time, what tends to stays with you, what you should let go of, what everyone wishes they’d done differently and what it means to have a life well-lived.

Regrets of the Dying is a powerful and hopeful meditation on life and what really matters in the end.

Goodreads Rating: 4.83

💜 Skandar and the Unicorn Thief – A.F. Steadman

Genre: Children’s Book (Middle Grade) – Fantasy

Publisher: Simon & Schuster

Publishing Date: 28.04.22

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Soar into a breathtaking world of heroes and unicorns as you’ve never seen them before in this fantastical middle grade debut perfect for fans of the Percy Jackson and Eragon series!

Skandar Smith has always yearned to leave the Mainland and escape to the secretive Island, where wild unicorns roam free. He’s spent years studying for his Hatchery exam, the annual test that selects a handful of Mainlander thirteen-year-olds to train to become unicorn riders. But on the day ofSkandar’s exam, things go horribly wrong, and his hopes are shattered…until a mysterious figure knocks on his door at midnight, bearing a message: the Island is in peril and Skandar must answer its call.

Skandar is thrust into a world of epic sky battles, dangerous clashes with wild unicor

ns, and rumors of a shadowy villain amassing a unicorn army. And the closer Skandar grows to his newfound friends and comm unity of riders, the harder it becomes to keep his secrets—especially when he discovers their lives may all be in graver danger than he ever imagined.

Goodreads Rating: 3.98

Other Debut Authors Releases:

💜 The Caretakers – Amanda Bestor-Siegal

Genre: Mystery/Thriller

Publisher: Little Brown Book Group

Publishing Date: 12.04.22

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Set in a wealthy Parisian suburb, an emotionally riveting debut told from the point of view of six women, and centered around a group of au pairs, one of whom is arrested after a sudden and suspicious tragedy strikes her host family–a dramatic exploration of identity, class, and caregiving from a profoundly talented new writer.

Paris, 2015. A crowd gathers outside the Chauvet home in the affluent suburban community of Maisons-Larue, watching as the family’s American au pair is led away in handcuffs after the sudden death of her young charge. The grieving mother believes the caretaker is to blame, and the neighborhood is thrown into chaos, unsure who is at fault–the enigmatic, young foreigner or the mother herself, who has never seemed an active participant in the lives of her children.

The truth lies with six women: Geraldine, a heartbroken French teacher struggling to support her vulnerable young students; Lou, an incompetent au pair who was recently fired by the family next door; Charlotte, a chilly socialite and reluctant mother; Nathalie, an isolated French teenager desperate for her mother’s attention; Holly, a socially anxious au pair yearning to belong in her adopted country; and finally, Alena, the one accused of the crime, who has gone to great lengths to avoid emotional connection, and now finds herself caught in the turbulent power dynamics of her host family’s household.

Set during the weeks leading up to the event, The Caretakers is a poignant and suspenseful drama featuring complicated women. It’s a sensitive exploration of the weight of secrets, the pressures of country, community, and family–and miscommunications and misunderstandings that can have fatal consequences.

Goodreads Rating: 3.65

💜 Hedgewitch – Skye Mckenna

Genre: Children’s Books (Middle Grade) – Fantasy

Publisher: Welbeck Flame

Publishing Date: 14.04.22

Synopsis from Goodreads:

First in a magical five-book series for readers of Nevermoor, The Worst Witch and The Dark Is Rising.

It has been seven years since Cassie Morgan last saw her mother. Left at a dreary boarding school, she spends her days hiding from the school bully and reading forbidden story books about the world of Faerie.

Certain that her mother is still alive, Cassie is determined to find her, whatever the dangers, and runs away from school. Lost and alone, she is chased by a pack of goblins but, to her surprise, escapes with the help of a flying broom and a talking cat named Montague, who takes her to the cosy village of Hedgely.

Here she discovers that she comes from a family of witches, women who protect Britain from the denizens of Faerie, who are all too real and far more frightening than her story books suggest.

Goodreads Rating: 4.31

💜 The Sleepers – K.M. Kelly

Genre: Thriller

Publisher: Bloodhound Books

Publishing Date: 26.04.22

Synopsis from Amazon:

A time bomb is ticking—but what if that time bomb is you? A chilling novel of intrigue, terror, and one man and woman in a race against the clock . . .

Sylvie is running. Running from the memories of a terror attack in London she experienced as a child, a catastrophic event in which her brother died. Running from her abusive boyfriend. And running from a warning, given to her on a station platform in Nantes: Someone is trying to kill her.

Corran isn’t really Corran. He’s working deep undercover to infiltrate the political organisation that looks set to win the upcoming British election—a group that doesn’t appear to have existed a few years ago. Corran has been sent to find out who’s behind them and what their true agenda might be.

But he messes up. All he has is a list of names, Sylvie’s included. Only with time does he begin to see the connections. Are those on the list, who were caught up in the London terror attack ten years ago, now being systematically taken out? The hit list will force Corran and Sylvie into a reluctant partnership, and into the center of a looming threat that could explode at any moment . . .

Goodreads Rating: 4.18

Congratulations to all the authors and publishers with releases this week.

Hope you find something you like on the post?

5 thoughts on “Debut Authors: 2022 Week #16

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create your website with WordPress.com
Get started
%d bloggers like this: