New UK Book Releases: 2022 Week #32

Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com

This is a new weekly post which will show some of the new UK Book releases each week.

These will be books on my to buy list, that I have found from various sources.

New Releases:

💜 Cold Heart – Jane Heafield

Genre: Thriller

Publisher: Bloodhound Books

Publishing Date: 08.08.22 E-Book, Paperback published 25.07.22

Synopsis from Goodreads:

A series of bizarre crimes across the English city of Sheffield brings a police detective and a PI together in an increasingly dangerous game . . .

Liam Bennet has just quit the force to become a private detective—and to his frustration, his first case is a weird petty crime while his good friend acting DCI Liz Miller is assigned a murder. Two murders, in fact—one recent, the other involving a skeletonized body, but both linked by pictures of dice at the scenes.

After Liz is attacked on the job, Liam visits her in hospital and they discover another odd connection: both Liam and the police are looking into teachers who’ve been victimised. Meanwhile, more dice keep turning up—though the crimes connected to them seem utterly random, ranging from the serious to the bizarre.

As the two close in on the mystery, will they be able to identify a pattern—or is their luck about to run out?

Goodreads rating: 4.48

💜 I Will Kill You – Halo Scott

Genre: Psychological Thriller

Publisher: Independently Published

Publishing Date: 08.08.22

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Corporate America: a psychopath’s wet dream. It’s Alex Osman’s playground.

Meet Alex. Alex is a single father. Alex is a psychopath. In public, he is a legend. In private, he is a madman. After losing his wife, he loses himself, drowning in crime to support his motherless kids. With the help of his imaginary friend, Bob (aka you, the reader), Alex rules Manhattan’s white-collar underworld, afraid to love again after crippling loss.

Then along comes Emma. Emma is a genius. Emma is dangerous. She sees something she shouldn’t, and Alex lets her live. Alex lets no one live. A game of cat and mouse escalates between them as threats and desire intertwine. After a safe life, Emma wants adventure, and Alex is a hurricane.

Then along comes a job. This job is a risk. This job is freedom. It pushes Alex to vicious extremes, but it could secure his kids’ futures. Everything he does, he does for them. Everyone he kills, he kills for them. Alex wants out, but he belongs in. Sin has teeth. Crime doesn’t commit itself, and freedom demands sacrifice.

Bob, you can’t trust Alex. He lies to everyone, including himself. His story is not what it seems.

Goodreads Rating: 4.67

💜 After the Party – Georgina Lees

Genre: Thriller

Publisher: One More Chapter

Publishing Date: 12.08.22

Synopsis from Goodreads:

He should have chosen me.
I never should have chosen him.

Lizzie has been in love with her colleague Dean for three years but he’s never given her a second glance.

When a job offer in London promises to launch her art career she finally feels ready to upend her life in pursuit of her dream … until the night of the office Christmas party when Dean confesses his love for someone else – Rebecca, one of Lizzie’s closest friends.

A few days later, the police show up on her doorstep.

Rebecca is missing.

Goodreads Rating: 3.49

Released in Paperback:

💜 The New House – Tess Stimson

Genre: Thriller

Publisher: Avon Books UK

Publishing Date: 04.08.22

Synopsis from Goodreads:

A totally addictive and absolutely gripping psychological thriller you won’t be able to put down…

Three couples.

About to purchase their dream home.

How far would you go to get the perfect life?

Perfect for fans of Louise Candlish and Shari Lapena, this domestic, psychological suspense novel will keep you on the edge of your seat.

Goodreads Rating: 4.40

💜 Gone for Good – Joanna Schaffhausen

Genre: Mystery/Thriller

Publisher: Minotaur Books

Publishing Date: 09.08.22

Synopsis from Goodreads:

The Lovelorn Killer murdered seven women, ritually binding them and leaving them for dead before penning them gruesome love letters in the local papers. Then he disappeared, and after twenty years with no trace of him, many believe that he’s gone for good.

Not Grace Harper. A grocery store manager by day, at night Grace uses her snooping skills as part of an amateur sleuth group. She believes the Lovelorn Killer is still living in the same neighborhoods that he hunted in, and if she can figure out how he selected his victims, she will have the key to his identity.

Detective Annalisa Vega lost someone she loved to the killer. Now she’s at a murder scene with the worst kind of déjà vu: Grace Harper lies bound and dead on the floor, surrounded by clues to the biggest murder case that Chicago homicide never solved. Annalisa has the chance to make it right and to heal her family, but first, she has to figure out what Grace knew―how to see a killer who may be standing right in front of you. This means tracing his steps back to her childhood, peering into dark corners she hadn’t acknowledged before, and learning that despite everything the killer took, she has still so much more to lose.

Goodreads Rating: 4.06

💜 The Voids – Ryan O’ Connor

Genre: Contemporary Fiction

Publisher: Scribe Us

Publishing Date: 11.08.22

Synopsis from Goodreads:

‘After a couple of weeks, I found myself standing outside the voids in the middle of the night listening for human activity, for any sign of life at all. Voids are flats that have been vacated, that will never be lived in again. But there never were any signs of life. Only the wind whistling through vacant interiors.’

In a condemned tower block in Glasgow, residents slowly trickle away until a young man is left alone with only the angels and devils in his mind for company. Stumbling from one surreal situation to the next, he encounters others on the margins of society, finding friendship and camaraderie wherever it is offered, grappling with who he is and what shape his future might take.

Goodreads Rating: 3.98

Congratulations to all the authors and publishers with releases this week.

Hope you find something you like on the post?

7 thoughts on “New UK Book Releases: 2022 Week #32

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create your website with WordPress.com
Get started
%d bloggers like this: